Premier Dalton McGuinty has shuffled his Cabinet following the resignation of two Liberal MPPs.

The announcement was made Friday, the same day Charles Sousa and Dr. Eric Hoskins announced their resignations.

“I want to thank Charles Sousa and Dr. Eric Hoskins for the leadership they brought to our Cabinet and for their unwavering commitment to serving Ontarians,” McGuinty said in a release.

McGunity said the shuffle was “to ensure that the Cabinet stays focused on delivering on key priorities for Ontario families.”

Michael Chan will now take over Sousa’s position as Minister of Citizenship and Immigration and Minister Responsible for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games, as well as continuing to serve as Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Education Minister Laurel Broten will also take on the Hoskins’ former role as Minister of Children and Youth Services.

The changes will take effect next week.

Both Sousa and Hoskins are now in position to follow former cabinet minister Sandra Pupatello and Toronto MPPs Kathleen Wynne and Glen Murray and announce their intention to run in the Liberal leadership race.